Reasons for Childlessness

Childlessness – Reasons for Infertility

In no way does infertility affect women only. In 30% of the childless couples, both partners are equally responsible for this situation. In 5 to 10% of the cases, one cannot dermine where the cause of infertility lies. In such cases, doctors talk about a so-called idiopathic infertility which causes can presumably be found on a psychological level. But factors such as overweight, cigarettes, acohol or stress can also play a role in having troubles conceiving.

The persons concerned often experience an emotional roller coaster ride: hopes, fear not to be able to meet the expectations, anger, disappointment, sadness, but also doubts about the partner often lead to stress and disputes. Tensions arise within the couple and the sexual life. Thus, a psychological aftercare during a fertility therapy is wise: it can help reduce the stress which is the result of expectations, hopes and fears over many years. Simultaneously, psychological and physical tensions fall. On the other hand, this improves the chances of getting pregnant.

Childlessness can be the result of different causes. Thus, childlessness is a problem which concerns both you and your partner. This is the reason why researching its reasons should always involve both partners.

Causes of Childlessness | Woman

Irritations of the maturation of the follicle and of the ovulation can be caused by hormonal disorders; they can also result from a surgical procedure, a radiotherapy, a chemotherapy procedure, through antibodies or due to older age. 

Dysfunctions of the egg transport result from inflammations and their cicatrisation. But this can also be the result of a surgical procedure. 

An obstacle to the sperm transport can be often attributed to an insufficient production of cervical mucus or to antibodies. 

It can happen that the embryo does not succeed in nesting (disturbed implantation). Responsible for this can be defects from inflammations and cicatrisations of the womb mucus, womb myoma or antibodies. 

The other possible causes of childlessness to be taken into account are stress, drugs abuse, unbalanced diet as well as environmental influences. Other possible reasons are operations or an endometriosis. 

Causes of Childlessness | Man

Troubles in the sperm production can be attributed to inflammations (mumps for instance), cryptorchidism, varices or hormonal dysfunctions.

 

Results from surgical procedure, chemotherapy or radiotherapy can also sometimes play a role. Yet, the reasons often remain without any answer.

Another possible reason is the fact that the sperm transport does not work properly, resulting from surgical procedures, inflammations or injuries. One must also take into account hereditary malformations as well as troubles to ejaculate caused by a nervous paralysis or impotence.

In the man also, one has to consider his mode of life (diet, drugs, environmental influences, stress) while making a diagnosis.

 

How to find us

Email: kinderwunsch@hin.ch
Tel: +41 (0)61 261 44 00

Schifflände 3 | CH-4051 Basel | Schweiz

Consultation Hours

Monday: 8 am - 5.30 pm

Thuesday: 8 am - 5.30 pm
Wednesday: 1.30 pm - 5.30 pm
Thursday: 8 am - 12 pm

Friday: 8 am - 5.30 pm

Contact

arrow&v

©2020 Kinderwunschzentrum | by atelier-nov.com

Logo_praxis.jpg
menü.jpg

Causes de l’absence d’enfants

Les causes de l'infertilité

La stérilité n’est en aucun cas quelque chose qui ne concerne que la femme. Chez 30% des couples touchés, on trouve chez les deux partenaires les causes à la base d’une absence d’enfants non désirée. Dans 5 à 10% des cas, on ne peut détecter ni chez l’homme ni chez la femme de causes organiques de stérilité. Dans ces cas, les médecins parlent d’une stérilité idiopathique et présument souvent des raisons au niveau psychique. Mais des facteurs tels que l’insuffisance ou l’excès de poids, le tabac, l’alcool ou le stress peuvent contribuer à ce que le désir d’enfants ne puisse pas être exaucé.

Les personnes concernées sont souvent traversées par des émotions contraires: espoirs, peur de ne pas être à la hauteur, colère, déception, tristesse, mais le doute envers le partenaire et soi-même conduit fréquemment à des situations de stress et de conflits. Des tensions émergent dans la relation et la vie sexuelle. Un suivi psychologique lors d’une thérapie de fertilité est ainsi judicieux : il peut aider à réduire le stress psychologique qui résulte d’une attente, d’espoirs et de craintes sur de nombreuses années. Simultanément, les tensions physiques et psychiques baissent. D’un autre côté, ceci améliore la chance qu’un désir d’enfants puisse être exaucé.

L’absence d’enfants peut avoir des causes variées. Le désir d’enfants non assouvi est ainsi un problème qui vous concerne tout autant que votre partenaire. C’est pourquoi la recherche des raisons devrait toujours se faire en commun.

Causes chez la femme

Les irritations de la maturation des follicules et de l’ovulation peuvent être la cause de troubles au niveau des hormones; elles peuvent aussi se produire en partie lors d’une intervention chirurgicale, de radiothérapie, de chimiothérapie, par des anticorps ou l’âge avançant.

Les troubles du transport de l’ovule proviennent d’inflammation et de leurs cicatrisation. Mais ils peuvent aussi résulter d’une intervention chirurgicale.

Un empêchement du transport des spermatozoïdes peut souvent être attribué à une production insuffisante de la muqueuse dans le col de l’utérus ou à des anticorps.

Il arrive que l’embryon ne puisse pas se nicher (implantation perturbée). Responsables de ceci peuvent être des déformations émanant d’inflammations et cicatrisations de la muqueuse de l’utérus, des myomes de l‘utérus ou des anticorps.

D’autres causes possibles d’absence d’enfants à prendre en considération sont le stress, la consommation de drogues, une alimentation déséquilibrée ainsi que les influences émanant de l’environnement.

Causes chez l’homme

Les troubles de la production de spermatozoïdes peuvent être attribués à des inflammations (p.ex. oreillons), ectopie testiculaire, varices ou à des troubles hormonaux. Les suites d’une intervention chirurgicale, de chimiothérapie ou de radiothérapie peuvent parfois également jouer un rôle. Cependant, les raisons en restent souvent inexplicables.

D’autres raisons possibles sont un transport des spermatozoïdes ne fonctionnant pas correctement qui peut être la conséquence d’interventions chirurgicales, d’inflammations ou de blessures. Il faut également prendre en compte les malformations héréditaires ainsi que les troubles de l’éjaculation causés par une paralysie nerveuse ou une impotence.

Chez l’homme également, il faut considérer le mode de vie (nutrition, drogues, influences environnementales, stress) lors du diagnostic.