Preimplantation Diagnosis

Preimplantation genetic screening

During the blastocyst stage (5 days after development outside the womb), cells differ and have multiple functions: actual embryo and the placenta. Some cells from the «placenta» (trophoblast) are extracted and examined 5 days after fertilization in order to determine if all 23 chromosome-pairs are present in their correct form. This is the process of genetic examination in which the chromosomally healthy embryos are selected. Chromosomally healthy embryos are ideal, as they have a higher chance of implantation and thus to the birth of a healthy child. 

What is PGS?

Depending on the woman’s age, an abnormal number of chromosomes is detected in 25%-80% of all embryos which develop into blastocysts. This cannot be observed with a microscope. In Switzerland, as of 1.9.2017, it is possible to examine the chromosomes of individual embryos through preimplantation genetic screening (PGS=PIGS). Thereby it is possible to select embryos with 46 chromosomes in the correct form for the embryo transfer. The preimplantation genetic screening is extremely beneficial, as the selection of chromosomally healthy embryos increases the likelihood of pregnancy per embryo inserted into the uterus, as well as decreasing the risk of miscarriage.

How is PGS carried out?

3-5 placenta cells are extracted 5 days after fertilization and examined for their chromosome content. At the earliest in the following month, the embryo/s containing 46 chromosomes are inserted into the uterus.

What is the situation in Switzerland?

On the 1st of September 2017 one of the most progressive reproductive-medicinal laws of the world came into effect: up to a maximum of 12 fertilized eggs can be developed into embryos and examined for chromosomes. Because of this, the probability of pregnancy per embryo transfer is increased and the risk of a miscarriage reduced.

Who is best suited for PGS?

We expect that PGS is suitable for about 20% of all couples, and that about half of these couples choose PGS. Younger women with functionally good ovaries have mostly maximum few benefits with this test. The PGS is very well suited for women aged 40 years old or above with many blastocysts, given that with PGS, only embryos with a correct number of chromosomes will be inserted into the uterus and thus significantly increasing the success chance per transfer. PGS is also recommended for selected patients who have gone through a high number of pregnancy losses (abortions), particularly if the patient has a desire for children.

We also suggest carrying out PGS on couples that, despite many embryo transfers, have not had any success with pregnancies. We are happy to discuss with you the many advantages and disadvantages of PGS and give you tailored advice as to what the chromosome examination could mean for you and your partner, or respectively, for the child.

What are the costs?

The additional costs for the PGS are substantial. Depending on the number of embryos, one must expect costs of up to ca. 4000 CHF. Feel free to call us on +41 (0)61 261 44 00, email us at kinderwunsch@hin.ch or pop by Schifflände 3 in Basel to discuss the costs and create a tailored treatment plan.

Number of embryos with an abnormal number of chromosomes

25 %

Women over 30 Years

35 %

35 Years

60 %

40 Years

85 %

45 Years

How to find us

Email: kinderwunsch@hin.ch
Tel: +41 (0)61 261 44 00

Schifflände 3 | CH-4051 Basel | Schweiz

Consultation Hours

Monday: 8 am - 5.30 pm

Thuesday: 8 am - 5.30 pm
Wednesday: 1.30 pm - 5.30 pm
Thursday: 8 am - 12 pm

Friday: 8 am - 5.30 pm

Contact

arrow&v

©2020 Kinderwunschzentrum | by atelier-nov.com

Logo_praxis.jpg
menü.jpg

Diagnostic préimplantatoire

Diagnostic préimplantatoire (DPI)

Au stade blastocyste (5 jours après le développement en dehors de l'utérus), les cellules diffèrent et ont de différentes fonctions : l'embryon proprement dit et le placenta. Certaines cellules du « placenta » (trophoblaste) sont extraites et examinées 5 jours après la fécondation afin de déterminer si les 23 paires de chromosomes sont présentes sous leur forme correcte. Il s'agit du processus d'examen génétique au cours duquel les embryons ayant un nombre normal de chromosomes sont sélectionnés. Les embryons ayant un nombre normal de chromosomes sont idéaux, car ils ont plus de chances de s’implanter et de donner naissance à un enfant en bonne santé.

Qu'est-ce que le PGS?

Selon l’âge de la femme, un nombre anormal de chromosomes est détecté dans 25% à 80% des embryons qui se transforment en blastocystes. Cela ne peut pas être observé avec un microscope. En Suisse, depuis le 1.9.2017, il est possible d'examiner les chromosomes d'embryons individuels grâce au dépistage génétique préimplantatoire (PGS = PIGS). Ainsi, il est possible de sélectionner des embryons avec 46 chromosomes pour le transfert d'embryons. Le dépistage génétique préimplantatoire est extrêmement bénéfique, car la sélection d'embryons sains sur le plan chromosomique augmente la probabilité de grossesse par embryon inséré dans l'utérus, tout en diminuant le risque de fausse couche.

 

Comment se déroule le PGS?

3-8 cellules placentaires sont extraites 5 jours après la fécondation et examinées pour leur contenu chromosomique. Au plus tôt le mois suivant, un embryon contenant 46 chromosomes est inséré dans l'utérus.

 

Quelle est la situation en Suisse?

Le 1er septembre 2017, l'une des lois de la médecine reproductive les plus progressistes du monde est entrée en vigueur : jusqu'à un maximum de 12 œufs fécondés peuvent être transformés en embryons et examinés pour les chromosomes. De ce fait, la probabilité de grossesse par transfert d'embryon est augmentée et le risque de fausse couche réduit.

Qui est le mieux adapté pour PGS?

Nous prévoyons que le PGS convient à environ 20% de tous les couples et qu'environ la moitié de ces couples choisissent le PGS. Les femmes plus jeunes, avec des ovaires fonctionnellement bons ont généralement peu d'avantages avec ce test. Le PGS est très bien adapté aux femmes âgées de 40 ans ou plus avec de nombreux blastocystes, étant donné qu'avec le PGS, seuls les embryons avec un nombre correct de chromosomes seront insérés dans l'utérus et augmentant ainsi considérablement les chances de succès par transfert. Le PGS est également recommandé pour les patientes sélectionnées qui ont subi un nombre élevé de fausses-couches. Nous suggérons également la réalisation de PGS sur des couples qui, malgré de nombreux transferts d'embryons, n'ont pas obtenu grossesses.

 

Nous sommes heureux de discuter avec vous des nombreux avantages et inconvénients du PGS et de vous donner des conseils personnalisés sur ce que l'examen des chromosomes pourrait signifier pour vous et votre partenaire, ou respectivement, pour l'enfant.

Nombre d'embryons avec un nombre anormal de chromosomes

25 %

Femmes 30 ans

35 %

35 ans

60 %

40 ans

85 %

45 ans